t

Susan Kordalewski

Exposition

Susan Kordalewski

This Will Also Change

22.03 — 22.04 / 2012

© Susan Kordalewski 2012

Vernissage 8 November 2012 – 17h

This Will Also Change

Taken from a Buddhist story in which two brothers inherit rings, one inscribed with the phrase “This will also change”, this exhibition includes eight works, including six that have never before been exhibited. Driven by questions of ontology, Susan Kordalewski mines her personal history to create works of art that document the personal in a way that emphasizes the ephemeral nature of the subject. This Will Also Change features photographs, prints, sculpture, installation, and craft-based artwork dealing with the emotionality and temporality of relationships, memory, and events.

Driven by a desire to contain, categorize, and represent the emotional, Kordalewski engages in a pseudo-scientific archival process that emphasizes the ephemeral and momentary, representing an obsessive need to arrive at some empirical, fixed truth. Kordalewski moves past the questions, “What, how, where and why does it mean?” to explore what we feel compelled to do with meaning, at the most intimate and personal level.

At Sporobole, the viewer is invited to experience a series of enigmatic propositions expressed in a wide range of media. The artworks in the exhibition take several forms: My Cells Are Rearranging Themselves is a photographic diptych that uses a mundane household moving box in a metaphor for change; The Sentence Project features a chronology of aphorisms, acting as a self-portrait highlighting the impermanence of self and experience; Rumination is an audio installation of five voices, each reading an encyclopaedia article that attempts to explain an emotional condition from a psychological or biological perspective; and My Misery Is A Gift is an edition of greeting cards featuring tearful photographic portraits.

The viewer is left with the residue of a deeply personal struggle―Kordalewski’s critical, diary-like work creates structures for understanding, attempting to materialize the ephemeral, to give structure to the intangible.

Photo credit : Jocelyn Riendeau

Biography

Susan Kordalewski holds an MFA from the Slade School of Fine Art (London, UK) and a BFA from Concordia University (Montréal, Canada). Her work has been exhibited in North America and Europe and is represented in private and public collections. In 2011, she was shortlisted for the Art Gallery of York University’s Artists’ Book award. Space vs. Place, an installation of her work at Gallery 44, was a featured exhibition in the 2011 Contact Photography Festival in Toronto. In 2012 her work was exhibited at the Institute of Contemporary Arts (London, UK) in a performance work curated by Am Nuden Da. This Will Also Change at Sporobole Centre en Art Actuel is her first solo exhibition.

Useful links :
www.kordalewski.com

t

Susan Kordalewski

Exposition

Susan Kordalewski

This Will Also Change

22.03 — 22.04 / 2012

© Susan Kordalewski 2012

Vernissage le 8 Novembre 2012 – 17h

This Will Also Change

Inspirée d’une histoire bouddhiste dans laquelle deux frères héritent d’anneaux sur l’un desquels est inscrit :  « Ceci aussi va changer » (This Will Also Change), cette exposition présente huit œuvres, dont six sont encore inédites à ce jour. Fascinée par les questions d’ontologie, Susan Kordalewski exploite son histoire personnelle pour créer des œuvres d’art qui documentent l’espace personnel, exprimant la nature éphémère du sujet.

This Will Also Change est formée de photographies, d’impressions, de sculptures, d’installations et d’œuvres faisant référence à l’artisanat qui toutes traitent de la nature émotionnelle et temporelle des relations, de la mémoire et des événements.

Motivée par le désir de contenir, classifier et représenter l’émotion, Susan Kordalewski s’engage dans un processus d’archivage pseudo-scientifique qui met l’emphase sur l’éphémère et le momentané, représentant un besoin obsessionnel de parvenir à une vérité empirique et fixe. Elle va au-delà des questions : « Quoi, comment, où et pourquoi est-ce signifiant ? » pour explorer ce que nous nous sentons contraints de faire de la signification, au niveau le plus intime et le plus personnel.

À Sporobole, le visiteur est invité à expérimenter une série de propositions énigmatiques exprimées à l’aide de toute une variété de médias. Les œuvres exposées prennent plusieurs formes, par exemple : My Cells Are Rearranging Themselves (« Mes cellules se réorganisent toutes seules ») est un diptyque photographique qui utilise des boîtes de déménagement comme métaphore du changement ; The Sentence Project (« Le projet Phrases ») présente une série d’aphorismes en ordre chronologique, et agit comme un autoportrait mettant en évidence l’impermanence de l’être et de l’expérience ; Rumination est une installation sonore à cinq voix, qui lisent chacune un article d’encyclopédie tentant d’exprimer un état émotionnel par un biais psychologique ou biologique ; My Misery Is A Gift (« Mon désespoir est un cadeau ») est une édition de cartes de vœux présentant des portraits photographiques de l’artiste en pleurs.

Le visiteur ressort imprégné de la sensation d’une lutte extrêmement personnelle – le travail critique de Kordalewski, pareil à un journal intime, créant des structures pour la compréhension, tentant de matérialiser l’éphémère, de donner forme à l’intangible.

Crédit photo : Jocelyn Riendeau

Biographie

Susan Kordalewski est titulaire d’une maîtrise de la Slade School of Fine Art (Londres, Angleterre), et d’un baccalauréat en arts de l’université Concordia (2005). Son travail a été exposé en Amérique du Nord et en Europe, et est présent dans des collections publiques et privées. En 2011, elle a été sélectionnée pour le prix du livre d’artiste de l’Art Gallery of York University. Space vs. Place, une installation de son travail présentée à la Gallery 44, a fait partie de l’édition 2011 du festival Contact Photography à Toronto. This Will Also Change est sa première exposition solo.

Lien(s) utile(s) :
www.kordalewski.com