t

Mitch Mitchell

Exposition

Mitch Mitchell

Berth

07.06 — 29.07 / 2012

© Mitch Mitchell, Berth (détail), 2012.

Vernissage 7 June 2012 – 17h

Berth

Mitch Mitchell’s prints and in situ installations present series of staged images of manipulated landscapes that evoke the extent of the constraints imposed on different environments by major construction projects. Without any visible reference to human habitation, they have the poetic and haunting appearance of the transformation process of industrial abandonment.

The artist’s recent works are marked by a deliberate change of scale, which provides the observer with a moment of disorientation and physical separation from space. Mitchell associates this feeling with some research trips during which he visited large construction sites, where the differences in scale between the territory in the distance and the body seem almost senseless and unreal. Without a familiar reference point, it is impossible to differentiate between large and small, micro and macro, masses and empty spaces. This loss of scale leads the observer to situate the imagination somewhere between an illusory landscape and the topography of a more intimate plane, both of which ultimately exist in a domain of the unknown.

For BERTH (berth), its new print-based facility, Mitch Mitchell has created an elaborate visual construction that reflects the industry’s global requirement for perpetual commerce, material distribution and waste generation. BERTH, made of thousands of hand-printed, folded and stacked miniature containers, suggests a correspondence between this mass of transport containers and the stone mountains of a quarry. The claustrophobic and playful relationship revealed by this two-part conversation becomes a poetic metaphor for mass production and the priority of needs and desires on a global scale, and for the link between these issues and those of population density, territorial development and the widespread exhaustion of raw materials.
Link to the page of the peripheral activity of the Berth exhibition.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

 

Crédit photo : Jocelyn Riendeau

Biography

An interdisciplinary artist specializing in printing art, Mitch Mitchell was born in the prairies of the Midwestern United States, where he earned a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree from Illinois State University before receiving a Master of Fine Arts degree in printmaking from the University of Alberta. His studio practice ranges from 2D prints and photographs to 3D installations based on prints. His series of works offer an emotional and sublime interpretation of the landscape in its relationship to the body, as the movements and transformations imposed on the territory by the mental strategy of development unfold. Mitchell, whose work has been featured in a number of solo and group exhibitions in Canada and abroad, has also been chosen to represent Canada at the Douro Engraving Biennale in Portugal (2010 and 2012) and the Contemporary Canadian Engraving Exhibition at the National Museum of Fine Arts in Chongqing, China. His works, which have won him numerous national and international awards, are part of museum and private collections, including those of the Boston Museum of Fine Arts and the Alberta Museum of Fine Arts.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Useful links :
www.mitchmitchellart.com

t

Mitch Mitchell

Exposition

Mitch Mitchell

Berth

07.06 — 29.07 / 2012

© Mitch Mitchell, Berth (détail), 2012.

Vernissage le 7 Juin 2012 – 17h

Berth

Les estampes et les installations in situ de Mitch Mitchell présentent des séries d’images mises en scènes montrant des paysages manipulés qui évoquent l’étendue des contraintes imposées à différents milieux par de grands projets de construction. Dépourvues de toute référence visible à l’habitation humaine, elles revêtent l’apparence à la fois poétique et obsédante du processus de transformation propre à l’abandon industriel.

Les œuvres récentes de l’artiste sont marquées par un changement d’échelle délibéré, qui procure à l’observateur un moment de désorientation et de séparation physique d’avec l’espace. Mitchell associe cette sensation à certains voyages de recherche au cours desquels il a visité de grands chantiers de construction, où les différences d’échelle entre le territoire au loin et le corps apparaissent presque insensées et irréelles. Sans point de repère familier, il est impossible de différencier grand et petit, micro et macro, masses et espaces vides. Cette perte d’échelle amène l’observateur à situer l’imaginaire quelque part entre un paysage illusoire et la topographie d’un plan plus intime, qui existent tous deux, ultimement, dans un domaine de l’inconnu.

Pour BERTH (poste d’amarrage), sa nouvelle installation à base d’estampes, Mitch Mitchell a réalisé une construction visuelle élaborée qui témoigne de l’impératif de commerce perpétuel, de distribution de matériaux et de production de déchets imposé mondialement par l’industrie. BERTH, faite de milliers de conteneurs miniatures imprimés à la main, pliés et empilés, suggère une correspondance entre cette masse de conteneurs de transport et les montagnes de pierre d’une carrière. La relation à la fois claustrophobe et ludique que révèle cette conversation en deux parties devient une métaphore poétique pour la production de masse et la priorité des besoins et des désirs à l’échelle planétaire, et pour le lien entre ces questions et celles de la densité de population, du développement du territoire et de l’épuisement généralisé des matières premières.

 

Lien vers la page de l’activité périphérique de l’exposition Berth.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Crédit photo : Jocelyn Riendeau

Biographie

Artiste interdisciplinaire spécialisé dans l’art d’impression, Mitch Mitchell est né dans les prairies du Midwest des États-Unis, où il a obtenu un baccalauréat en beaux-arts de l’Illinois State University, avant de recevoir une maîtrise en gravure de l’Université de l’Alberta. Sa pratique d’atelier varie entre impressions et photographies 2D et installations 3D à base d’estampes. Ses séries d’œuvres proposent une interprétation émotive et sublime du paysage dans ses rapports au corps, au fur et à mesure des déplacements et des transformations imposés au territoire par la stratégie mentale de l’aménagement. Mitchell, dont le travail a été présenté dans un grand nombre d’expositions individuelles et collectives au Canada et à l’étranger, a également été choisi pour représenter le Canada dans le cadre de la Biennale de gravure de Douro, au Portugal (2010 et 2012), et de l’exposition de gravures canadiennes contemporaines présentée au Musée national des beaux-arts de Chongqing, en Chine. Ses œuvres, qui lui ont valu de nombreux prix nationaux et internationaux, font partie de collections de musées et de particuliers, dont celles du Musée des beaux-arts de Boston et du Musée des beaux-arts de l’Alberta.

Lien(s) utile(s) :
www.mitchmitchellart.com