t

Lorna Bauer

Exposition

Lorna Bauer

What Is Not But Could Be If

07.04 — 08.05 / 2011

© Lorna Bauer, What Is Not But Could Be If, What Could Appear In The Morning Mist, 2011.

Vernissage 7 April 2011 – 17h

What Is Not But Could Be If, What Could Appear In The Morning Mist

For the exhibition presented at Sporobole, artist Lorna Bauer revisits and reconfigures an earlier body of work, entitled What Is Not But Could Be If, presented at YYZ Artist Outlet in Toronto in the summer of 2010. A new series of images, entitled What Could Appear In The Morning Mist, a title that also complements the title of this exhibition, consists of a photographic diptych composed of two deep black fields of empty space. A closer look at the images reveals a photographer’s tenuous reflection.

These two images reflect the artist’s interest in discovering the documentary photographer embedded in the reproduction of a work of art, whether in a magazine, online or in another form of publication. This discovery highlights the presence of the many hands (usually made invisible) involved in promoting and creating a work of art and then an artist.

15 seconds, 20 seconds, 25 seconds, 30 seconds, 35 seconds, 40. Repeat.

An abstraction in progress

This diptych represents an attempt, through the legacy of photography, to slow the viewer down to the point of almost freezing him in place. How to write anything new about the “moment” or the
“slice” of life and its relationship to photography? Perhaps that is why the film image divided into discrete frames constitutes such an inexhaustible source of meaning. The frame confines the image, but in this case, the frame, which seems to occupy all the space, invites us to look elsewhere, in search of clues and to go beyond its limits.

Susan Sontag has already suggested that artistic photography is, to a large extent, dependent on the strangeness quest of surrealism. Lorna Bauer’s images take us back to the past, to the first examples of mechanical reproduction, to the time when photography was an instrument for learning more about things. Dan Adler recently commented on Bauer’s “dazzling and ghostly ghostly ghosts”, which “caused a lasting, yet fragile, sense of wonder. (Artforum, October 2010)

The images, produced in the studio and gathered for the exhibition, become indexes of the work required to produce them, suggesting the importance of the process, medium and method leading to the final product.

(Excerpts from an essay by Jon Knowles)

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Crédit photo : Jocelyn Riendeau

Biography

Lorna Bauer lives and works in Montreal. His works were the subject of a solo exhibition at YYZ Artists Outlet, to which the October 2010 issue of Artforum International devoted an article. She has also presented solo exhibitions at Les Territoires Gallery in Montreal and in the Projection Access space of the Art Gallery of Mississauga. Her videos have been shown at the Art Gallery of Hamilton, the Nuit Blanche de Toronto in 2010, and the Art Centre at the University of Toronto. She holds a Master’s degree in Visual Studies from the University of Toronto (2009) and a Bachelor of Fine Arts (Honours) from Concordia University (2005).

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Useful links :
www.lornabauer.com

Document(s) :
Essai de Jon Knowles
Jon Knowles' essay

t

Lorna Bauer

Exposition

Lorna Bauer

What Is Not But Could Be If

07.04 — 08.05 / 2011

© Lorna Bauer, What Is Not But Could Be If, What Could Appear In The Morning Mist, 2011.

Vernissage le 7 Avril 2011 – 17h

What Is Not But Could Be If, What Could Appear In The Morning Mist

What Is Not But Could Be If, What Could Appear In The Morning Mist (Ce qui n’est pas, mais qui pourrait être si,  ce qui pourrait apparaître dans la brume matinale). Pour l’exposition présentée à Sporobole, l’artiste Lorna Bauer revisite et reconfigure un corpus de travail antérieur, intitulé What Is Not But Could Be If (« Ce qui n’est pas, mais qui pourrait être si »), présenté à YYZ Artist Outlet à Toronto au cours de l’été 2010. Une nouvelle série d’images, intitulée What Could Appear In The Morning Mist (« Ce qui pourrait apparaître dans la brume matinale », un titre qui s’ajoute également à celui de cette exposition), consiste en un diptyque photographique composé de deux champs noirs et profonds d’espace vide. Une observation plus attentive des images révèle le reflet ténu d’un photographe.

Ces deux images témoignent de l’intérêt qu’a l’artiste à découvrir le photographe documentariste incrusté dans la reproduction d’une œuvre d’art, que ce soit dans une revue, en ligne ou dans une autre forme de publication. Cette découverte met en lumière la présence des nombreuses mains (habituellement rendues invisibles) qui participent à la promotion et à la création d’une œuvre d’art, puis d’un artiste.

15 secondes, 20 secondes, 25 secondes, 30 secondes, 35 secondes, 40.  Répéter.

Une abstraction en voie de réalisation

Ce diptyque représente une tentative, par la voie du legs de la photographie, de ralentir le spectateur au point de presque le figer sur place. Comment écrire quoi que ce soit de nouveau à propos de « l’instant » ou de la
« tranche » de vie et de sa relation à la photographie ? Peut-être est-ce pour cela que l’image filmique divisée en cadres discrets constitue un tel puits intarissable de signification. Le cadre confine l’image, or dans ce cas, le cadre, qui semble occuper toute la place, nous invite à regarder ailleurs, à la recherche d’indices et pour dépasser ses limites.

Susan Sontag a déjà suggéré que la photographie artistique était, en grande partie, tributaire de la quête d’étrangeté du surréalisme. Les images de Lorna Bauer nous renvoient plus loin dans le passé, jusqu’aux premiers exemples de reproduction mécanique, à l’époque où la photographie était un instrument permettant de mieux connaître les choses. Dan Adler a récemment commenté les « images rémanentes éblouissantes et fantomatiques » de Bauer, qui « provoquaient un sentiment d’émerveillement  durable, quoique fragile ». (Artforum, octobre 2010)

Les images, réalisées en atelier et rassemblées pour l’exposition, deviennent des index du travail nécessaire à leur réalisation, suggérant l’importance du processus, du médium et de la méthode menant au produit final.

(Extraits d’un essai de Jon Knowles)

Crédit photo : Jocelyn Riendeau

Biographie

Lorna Bauer vit et travaille à Montréal. Ses œuvres ont fait l’objet d’une exposition individuelle à YYZ Artists Outlet, à laquelle le numéro d’octobre 2010 d’Artforum International a consacré un article. Elle a également présenté des expositions individuelles à la galerie Les Territoires à Montréal et dans l’espace Projection Access de la Art Gallery of Mississauga. Ses vidéos ont été montrées à la Art Gallery of Hamilton, à la Nuit Blanche de Toronto, en 2010, et au Art Centre de l’Université de Toronto. Elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise en études visuelles de l’Université de Toronto (2009), ainsi que d’un baccalauréat en beaux-arts (avec distinction) de l’Université Concordia (2005).

Lien(s) utile(s) :
www.lornabauer.com

Document(s) :
Essai de Jon Knowles
Jon Knowles' essay