t

Linda Duvall et Peter Kingstone

Exposition

Linda Duvall et Peter Kingstone

Living in 10 Easy Lessons

07.11 — 08.12 / 2013

© Living in 10 Easy Lessons (image vidéo), 2012

Vernissage 7 November 2013 – 17h

Living in 10 Easy Lessons

Living in 10 Easy Lessons is the title of a video project by the artists Linda Duvall and Peter Kingstone, who collaborated on a series of interviews with street-involved women. Using a minimalist and sensitive documentary approach, the two artists shot, in black and white, a series of encounters in a neutral, uncontrived space. This is where these women conveyed to Linda Duvall or Peter Kingstone ten skills they had learned on the ground over time. Point by point, they indicate what you must and must not do; for example, sell drugs, simulate a sexual act, solicit money or dodge a threat. For most of these women, acquiring these skills is a question of survival.

The installation Living in 10 Easy Lessons, which also includes photographic prints and a booklet, gives rise to an ambiguous feeling on several levels. In the first place through the reversal of values that occurs in it, as the skills taught are usually hidden, secret and seen as taboo. Authority is also destabilised, because here the normally marginalised subject becomes the instructor. Through this project, the artists seek to break with the institutionalised model which distinguishes between those who dispense knowledge and those who receive it, confronting us with our prejudices. The project also poses the question of the various forms that the documentary approach can take in an artistic practice which maintains ties with sociology. As Cheyanne Turions, an independent curator who has written on this video project, has remarked, when we watch this work it becomes our responsibility to participate in this necessary change of social paradigm in order to acknowledge the vulnerability that these women reveal.

 

Biography

Artist Linda Duvall presents within gallery contexts, on the web and within public communities. She has completed degrees in Sociology and English (Carleton University) and Visual Arts (OCADU and University of Michigan). She is currently a Professional Affiliate at the University of Saskatchewan. Duvall has exhibited both locally and internationally, including solo exhibitions at the Art Gallery of Hamilton, Dunlop Art Gallery, Art Gallery of Mississauga, Museo Nacional de Arte Moderno in Guatemala City, Box Hotel Gallery in Barcelona, Thunder Bay Art Gallery and TPW Toronto. She has participated in various public art events including CAFKA Kitchener, Nuit Blanche Toronto and Future Cities Hamilton.

Peter Kingstone holds a Philosophy/Cultural Studies Degree from Trent University in Peterborough, and a Masters of Fine Arts from York University, Toronto. His work has been shown across Canada and throughout the United States. He is interested in looking at the construction of narrative and who gets to tell the story. He won the Untitled Artist Award in 2005 for his installation The Strange Case of Peter K. (1974-2004).  He has been awarded grants from Toronto Arts Council, Ontario Arts Council and Canada Council for the Arts. The current show, Living in 10 Easy Lessons (with Linda Duvall) has shown in Toronto, Shanghai and Montreal.

t

Linda Duvall et Peter Kingstone

Exposition

Linda Duvall et Peter Kingstone

Living in 10 Easy Lessons

07.11 — 08.12 / 2013

© Living in 10 Easy Lessons (image vidéo), 2012

Vernissage le 7 Novembre 2013 – 17h

Vivre en 10 leçons faciles est le titre d’un projet vidéo des artistes Linda Duvall et Peter Kingstone, qui ont réalisé en collaboration une suite d’entretiens avec des femmes travaillant dans la rue. Dans une approche documentaire minimaliste et sensible, les deux artistes ont filmé en noir et blanc une série de rencontres tenues dans un espace neutre et sans artifice. C’est dans ce lieu que ces femmes ont transmis à Linda Duvall ou à Peter Kingstone dix compétences qu’elles ont acquises sur le terrain, au fil des jours. Point par point, elles émettent des consignes sur ce qu’il faut faire et ne pas faire pour, par exemple, vendre de la drogue, feindre un acte sexuel, solliciter de l’argent ou esquiver une menace. L’acquisition de ces compétences est pour la plupart de ces protagonistes une question de survie.  

L’installation Vivre en 10 leçons faciles, qui comprend aussi des impressions photographiques et un livret, engendre à plusieurs niveaux un sentiment ambigu. D’abord par le renversement de valeurs qui s’y produit, les compétences enseignées étant d’habitude cachées, secrètes, considérées comme un sujet tabou. Une déstabilisation de l’autorité se produit également, puisque le sujet habituellement marginalisé devient ici l’instructeur. À travers ce projet, les artistes proposent de rompre avec le modèle institutionnalisé qui distingue ceux qui dispensent le savoir et ceux qui le reçoivent, et nous confrontent à nos préjugés. Le projet Vivre en 10 leçons faciles pose aussi la question des diverses formes que peut prendre l’approche documentaire dans une pratique artistique qui entretient des liens avec la sociologie. Comme le mentionne Cheyanne Turions, commissaire indépendante qui a écrit sur ce projet vidéo, en regardant ce travail, il advient de notre responsabilité de participer à ce changement de paradigme social nécessaire pour répondre à la vulnérabilité que ces femmes exposent.

 

Biographie

Linda Duvall est une artiste visuelle dont le travail est présenté dans des galeries, sur le Web et dans des lieux publics définis. Elle a fait des études en sociologie et en langue anglaise (Université Carleton), ainsi qu’en arts visuels (OCAD  et Université du Michigan). Elle enseigne actuellement à l’Université de la Saskatchewan. Duvall a exposé au Canada et à l’étranger, notamment dans le cadre d’expositions individuelles : Art Gallery of Hamilton, Dunlop Art Gallery, Art Gallery of Mississauga, Museo Nacional de Arte Moderno (Guatemala City), Box Hotel Gallery (Barcelone), Thunder Bay Art Gallery et Gallery TPW (Toronto). Elle a participé à divers événements d’art public, dont CAFKA (Kitchener), la Nuit Blanche de Toronto et Future Cities.

Peter Kingstone est un artiste canadien qui vit et travaille à Toronto. Il détient un diplôme en philosophie et études culturelles de l’Université Trent à Peterborough et une maîtrise en arts visuels de l’Université York à Toronto. Kingstone a présenté son travail à travers le Canada et les États-Unis. Il s’intéresse à la construction des récits et à celles et ceux qui ont le droit de les raconter. II a obtenu l’Untitled Artist Award en 2005 pour son installation The Strange Case of Peter K. (1974-2004).  Il a obtenu des bourses du Toronto Arts Council, du Conseil des arts de l’Ontario et du Conseil des arts du Canada. L’exposition actuelle, Vivre en 10 leçons faciles (avec Linda Duvall) a été présentée à Toronto, Shanghai et Montréal.