t

Lerunningman

Exposition

Lerunningman

COLLECTION 2011

20.01 — 03.04 / 2011

© Jacques Desruisseaux, Piéton clandestin (2009)

Vernissage 20 January 2011 – 17h

2011 Collection

I question the fragile relationships and imbalance we maintain with our environment, as well as its social organization. I am interested in communication codes and the relevance of the information conveyed. With bollards and panels of my own, I comicily introduce the human presence into its ephemeral and complex relationship with its surroundings.

L.

With the COLLECTION 2011 project, Lerunningman combines symbols and words to recompose a communication that intersects the common signs between art, fashion and advertising. On January 20, the artist will propose a one-night installation in a rental space on Wellington Street in downtown Sherbrooke that will announce his future interventions. Then, for a month, two words and two backlit images will occupy the windows on the ground floor of the same building, propelling a message with multiple interpretations into the commercial artery. Thereafter, the proposal will evolve to extend into the city until April 3. For this third component, the artist, who usually uses painted aluminum to make signage panels, mimicking the usual material of this type of urban material, will this time use black duct tape on panels and vinyl to build a more raw urban signage that is located between the industrial object and the sculpture.

The artist thanks the City of Sherbrooke for its financial support.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Crédit photo : Jocelyn Riendeau

Biography

Lerunningman was born in downtown Sherbrooke in 2007. His work mainly takes the form of urban interventions and infiltration. He recently built a parasitic residence with signs and teddy bears in Mautauban and Brussels (Belgium). Holder of a combined bachelor’s degree in visual arts and art history, he has presented under his official name nearly twenty solo exhibitions and participated in several artist residencies including in Scotland, Mexico, Belgium and France. He has worked as a technician in the workshops of the Œil de Poisson as well as in various specialized workshops and carries out projects of integration into architecture. In May 2011, the 2011 Collection suite will be presented in a park of Ville de Laval as part of the programming outside the walls of the Galerie Verticale.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Useful links :
www.lerunningman.com

t

Lerunningman

Exposition

Lerunningman

COLLECTION 2011

20.01 — 03.04 / 2011

© Jacques Desruisseaux, Piéton clandestin (2009)

Vernissage le 20 Janvier 2011 – 17h

Collection 2011

Je questionne les rapports fragiles et le déséquilibre que nous entretenons avec notre environnement, ainsi que son organisation sociale. Je m’intéresse aux codes de la communication et à la pertinence de l’information véhiculée. Avec des bornes et des panneaux de mon cru, j’introduis de façon cocasse la présence humaine dans sa relation éphémère et complexe avec son entourage ».

L.

Avec le projet COLLECTION 2011, Lerunningman amalgame symboles et mots afin de recomposer une communication qui recoupe les signes communs entre l’art, la mode et la publicité. Le 20 janvier, l’artiste proposera une installation d’un soir dans un local à louer de la rue Wellington au centre-ville de Sherbrooke qui annoncera ses interventions futures. Puis, pendant un mois, deux mots et deux images rétro éclairés occuperont les vitrines au rez-de-chaussée de ce même local propulsant dans l’artère commerciale un message aux interprétations multiples. Par la suite, la proposition évoluera pour s’étendre dans la ville jusqu’au 3 avril prochain. Pour ce troisième volet, l’artiste qui utilise habituellement de l’aluminium peint pour la fabrication de panneaux signalétiques, mimant ainsi la matière usuelle de ce type de matériel urbain, utilisera cette fois le duct tape noir sur panneaux et du vinyle pour construire une signalétique urbaine davantage brute qui se trouve entre l’objet industriel et la sculpture.

L’artiste remercie la Ville de Sherbrooke pour son soutien financier.

 

 

 

 

 

Crédit photo : Jocelyn Riendeau

Biographie

Lerunningman naît au centre-ville de Sherbrooke en 2007. Son travail prend principalement la forme d’interventions et d’infiltrations urbaines. Il a réalisé dernièrement une résidence-parasitage avec panneaux signalétiques et oursons en peluche à Mautauban et à Bruxelles (Belgique). Détenteur d’un baccalauréat combiné en arts plastiques et en histoire de l’art, il a présenté sous son nom officiel près d’une vingtaine d’expositions solo et participé à plusieurs résidences d’artistes dont en Ecosse, au Mexique, en Belgique et en France. Il a œuvré comme technicien aux ateliers de l’Œil de Poisson ainsi que dans différents ateliers spécialisés et réalise des projets d’intégration à l’architecture. En mai 2011, la suite de Collection 2011 sera présentée dans un parc de la Ville de Laval dans le cadre de la programmation hors les murs de la Galerie Verticale.

Lien(s) utile(s) :
www.lerunningman.com