t

Juan Ortiz-Apuy

Exposition

Juan Ortiz-Apuy

The Freedom Fighter Manual

20.09 — 21.10 / 2012

© Juan Ortiz-Apuy, The Freedom Fighter Manual (détail), 2011

Vernissage 20 September 2012 – 17h

The Freedom Fighter Manual

The Freedom Fighter Manual refers to an installation work presented in a corridor built in the centre of the Sporobole showroom. Designed as an installation of silkscreens prints appearing and disappearing mysteriously in the dark, The Freedom Fighter Manual deals with power and language. This dyad is also found on the walls of the gallery, where photographs and a video pose, under false playful airs, the question of power.

The Freedom Fighter Manual is a 17-page document, printed by the CIA and air-dropped in Nicaragua in 1983 as part of a secret operation to overthrow the Sandinista government (a movement named after Augusto Sandino, a leading figure in the resistance to US military occupation). The manual contains a series of instructions on civil disobedience and revolt, inviting the population to take apparently harmless actions – destruction of books, absenteeism from work under the pretext of illness, false hotel reservations – up to more violent projects, such as the making of a Molotov cocktail or an incendiary bomb.

Exploring the ability of language to generate images, objects and situations, Juan Ortiz-Apuy considers it both as existing cultural material and an ineffable rumination as well as an event taking place in the social space. His work draws on a personal experience of geographical and cultural movements, from South to North, from the so-called Third World to the industrialized countries. This position has led him to focus on the interstices and overlaps between language, identity and violence.

Against the backdrop of a journey and journey, Ortiz-Apuy develops tools and a methodology that use the geographical map to link small and large cities, concepts and sources. He translates ideas into forms, as evidenced by the corpus of works Species of Spaces Series and A Map of the Empire of Language as a Place of Struggle, which completes the installation.

“My intention is not only to expose language, but also to play with it – to retain certain information and suggest hidden meanings, games and riddles. Thus, The Freedom Fighter Manual and the Species of Spaces series, presented at Sporobole, reflect the idea that power leads to resistance, and resistance, to new forms of power. It is partly my intention to highlight this contradiction and deadlock and thus to raise the paradoxical possibility of an adequacy between activism and inaction. “J.O.A.

Link to the page of the peripheral activity of the exhibition The Freedom Fighter Manual.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Crédit photo : Jocelyn Riendeau

Biography

Born in 1980 in Tilaran, Costa Rica, Juan Ortiz-Apuy currently lives and works in Montreal. He holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree from Concordia University (2008), a Graduate Diploma from the Glasgow School of Art, Scotland (2009), and a Master’s degree from the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design, Halifax (2011). Gallery PUSH, Anna Leonowens Gallery, MacLaren Arts Centre, and Toronto’s Whippersnapper Gallery have recently held solo exhibitions of her work. He is a finalist for the ABotM Award from the Art Gallery of York University and recently won awards at the Halifax Regional Municipality Contemporary Visual Art Award 2011 and the Dazibao Young Headliner Competition in 2010. His work has also been covered in several newspapers, magazines and books, including Marc James Léger’s The Brave New Avant Garde.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Useful links :
www.juanortiz-apuy.com

t

Juan Ortiz-Apuy

Exposition

Juan Ortiz-Apuy

The Freedom Fighter Manual

20.09 — 21.10 / 2012

© Juan Ortiz-Apuy, The Freedom Fighter Manual (détail), 2011

Vernissage le 20 Septembre 2012 – 17h

The Freedom Fighter Manual

The Freedom Fighter Manual désigne une œuvre installative présentée dans un couloir construit au centre de la salle d’exposition de Sporobole. Conçue comme une installation de sérigraphies apparaissant et disparaissant mystérieusement dans l’obscurité, The Freedom Fighter Manual traite de pouvoir et de langage. Cette dyade se retrouve également sur les murs de la galerie, où des photographies et une vidéo posent, sous de faux airs ludiques, la question du pouvoir.

The Freedom Fighter Manual est un document de 17 pages, imprimé par la CIA et aérolargué au Nicaragua en 1983 dans le cadre d’une opération secrète visant à renverser le gouvernement sandiniste (mouvement qui doit son nom à Augusto Sandino, figure de proue de la résistance à l’occupation militaire étatsunienne). Le manuel contient une série d’instructions en matière de désobéissance civile et de révolte, invitant la population à poser des gestes apparemment anodins – destruction de livres, absentéisme au travail sous prétexte de maladie, fausses réservations d’hôtel –, jusqu’à des projets plus violents, comme la fabrication d’un cocktail Molotov ou d’une bombe incendiaire.

Explorant la capacité du langage à générer des images, des objets et des situations, Juan Ortiz-Apuy considère celui-ci aussi bien comme un matériel culturel existant et une ineffable rumination qu’un événement se déroulant dans l’espace social. Son travail puise dans une expérience personnelle de déplacements géographiques et culturels, du Sud au Nord, du prétendu tiers-monde aux pays industrialisés. Cette position l’a amené à s’intéresser aux interstices et aux chevauchements qui existent entre le langage, l’identité et la violence.

Sur fond de parcours et de voyage, Ortiz-Apuy élabore des outils et une méthodologie qui invoquent la carte géographique pour relier les villes petites et grandes, les concepts et les sources. Il traduit les idées en formes, comme en témoignent le corpus d’œuvres Species of Spaces Series et A Map of the Empire of Language as a Place of Struggle, qui complète l’installation.

« Mon intention n’est pas seulement d’exposer le langage, mais également de jouer avec celui-ci – de retenir certaines informations et de suggérer des sens cachés, des jeux et des énigmes. Ainsi, The Freedom Fighter Manual et la série Species of Spaces, présentés à Sporobole, reflètent l’idée selon laquelle le pouvoir entraîne la résistance, et la résistance, de nouvelles formes de pouvoir. C’est en partie mon intention que de mettre en lumière cette contradiction et cette impasse et d’évoquer, de ce fait, la possibilité paradoxale d’une adéquation entre activisme et inaction. » J.O.A.

Lien vers la page de l’activité périphérique de l’exposition The Freedom Fighter Manual.

 

Crédit photo : Jocelyn Riendeau

Biographie

Né en 1980 à Tilaran, au Costa Rica, Juan Ortiz-Apuy vit et travaille actuellement à Montréal. Il détient un baccalauréat en beaux-arts de l’Université Concordia (2008), un diplôme d’études supérieures de la Glasgow School of Art, Écosse (2009), ainsi qu’une maîtrise du Nova Scotia College of Art and Design, Halifax (2011). Gallery PUSH, Anna Leonowens Gallery, le MacLaren Arts Centre, ainsi que la Whippersnapper Gallery de Toronto lui ont récemment consacré des expositions individuelles. Il fait partie des finalistes du prix ABotM de l’Art Gallery of York University et a récemment remporté des prix au Halifax Regional Municipality Contemporary Visual Art Award 2011 et au concours Jeune tête d’affiche de Dazibao en 2010. Son travail a par ailleurs été couvert dans plusieurs journaux, revues et livres, notamment The Brave New Avant Garde de Marc James Léger.

 

Lien(s) utile(s) :
www.juanortiz-apuy.com