t

Experimental Geography

Exposition

Experimental Geography

Commissaire invité : Nato Thompson

20.01 — 20.03 / 2011

crédits : Ilana Halperin, Boiling Milk, Solfataras, 2000. Impression chromogène, 48 X 76 cm.

Vernissage 29 January 2011 – 14h

Experimental Geography

Guest Curator: Nato Thompson
Organized by Independent Curators International (iCI)
Co-presented with the Foreman Art Gallery at Bishop’s University
A shuttle will be available between Sporobole and the Foreman Gallery on opening day on January 29.

Artists : Francis Alÿs, AREA Chicago, The Center for Land Use Interpretation (CLUI), The Center for Urban Pedagogy (CUP), e-Xplo, Ilana Halperin, kanarinka (Catherine D’lgnazio), Julia Meltzer and David Thorne, Lize Mogel, Multiplicity, Trevor Paglen, Raqs Media Collective, Ellen Rothenberg, Spurse, Deborah Stratman, Daniel Tucker, Alex Villar, Yin Xiuzhen. Artists in Sporobole: e-Xplo, Ilana Halperin, Multiplicity, Raqs Media Collective, Daniel Tucker and Alex Villar.

“The manifestations of “experimental geography” (a term coined by geographer Trevor Paglen in 2002) cover all the practices of contemporary art today – from cities made of fabric sewn in suitcases, to bus tours in water treatment plants, to artists climbing building walls, to sound works that capture the hum of the electrical waves of the network. In the hands of contemporary artists, the study of the encounter between the human and the topography of the earth becomes one of the most challenging enigmas to solve in an experimental way. The exhibition presents an overview of this new practice, through a wide range of media: video and sound installations, photographs, sculptures and experimental cartographies.

Experimental geography presents artists whose approaches range from poetic to empirical. More pragmatic techniques include those of the Center for Urban Pedagogy (CUP), which carries out projects with students and groups outside the artistic world and thus aims to encourage everyone to become an agent of change in their own environment. See, for example, the map that the UPC has designed to help stevedores and truckers locate choke points in the freight transportation system. Equally empirical, the projects of the Center for Land Use Interpretation (CLUI), a research organization, examine the nature and extent of human interactions with the Earth’s surface. The CLUI adopts a multidisciplinary approach that requires a reading of the American landscape (notably, the disfiguration of the picturesque shores of the Hudson River, caused by the extraction of natural resources), leading the spectator to observe with a new eye certain hidden details of his daily experience. “N.T.

Experimental Geography is a travelling exhibition organized and circulated by Independent Curators International (iCI), New York, with Nato Thompson as guest curator. The exhibition, its tour and catalogue are made possible thanks in part to the Horace W. Goldsmith Foundation, to iCI Advocates, iCI Partners, Gerrit L. and Sydie Lansing and Barbara and John Robinson.

Link to the Foreman Art Gallery page

 

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

 

Crédit Photo: Jocelyn Riendeau

 

Biography

Nato Thompson is Chief Commissioner at Creative Time, New York, as well as author and activist. Key to the City, Democracy in America: The National Campaign, Waiting for Godot in New Orleans, a project by Paul Chan in collaboration with Harlem Classical Theatre, and Mike Nelson: A Psychic Vacuum, are among his projects with Creative Time. Thompson was curator at the MASS MoCA where his exhibitions The Interventionists: Art in the Social Sphere and Ahistoric Occasion: Artists Making History are on display.

Independent Curators International (iCI) produces exhibitions, events, publications and training opportunities for diverse audiences around the world. A catalyst for independent reflection, iCI connects emerging and established curators and artists.

 

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Useful links :
http://natothompson.wordpress.com/about/
http://www.curatorsintl.org/[/types]

t

Experimental Geography

Exposition

Experimental Geography

Commissaire invité : Nato Thompson

20.01 — 20.03 / 2011

crédits : Ilana Halperin, Boiling Milk, Solfataras, 2000. Impression chromogène, 48 X 76 cm.

Vernissage le 29 Janvier 2011 – 14h

Experimental Geography

Commissaire invité : Nato Thompson
Organisé par Independent Curators International (iCI)
Co-présenté avec la galerie d’art Foreman de l’université Bishop’s
Une navette sera disponible entre Sporobole et la galerie Foreman la journée du vernissage le 29 janvier

Artistes : Francis Alÿs, AREA Chicago, The Center for Land Use Interpretation (CLUI), The Center for Urban Pedagogy (CUP), e-Xplo, Ilana Halperin, kanarinka (Catherine D’lgnazio), Julia Meltzer and David Thorne, Lize Mogel, Multiplicity, Trevor Paglen, Raqs Media Collective, Ellen Rothenberg, Spurse, Deborah Stratman, Daniel Tucker, Alex Villar, Yin Xiuzhen. Artistes à Sporobole : e-Xplo, Ilana Halperin, Multiplicity, Raqs Media Collective, Daniel Tucker and Alex Villar.

« Les manifestations de la « géographie expérimentale » (terme créé par le géographe Trevor Paglen, en 2002) couvrent l’ensemble des pratiques de l’art contemporain aujourd’hui – que l’on pense par exemple aux villes fabriquées de tissus cousus dans des valises, aux tours en autobus dans des usines de traitement des eaux, aux artistes qui grimpent aux parois d’édifices ou encore aux oeuvres sonores qui capturent le bourdonnement des ondes électriques du réseau. Dans les mains des artistes contemporains, l’étude de la rencontre entre l’humain et la topographie de la terre devient une énigme des plus stimulantes à résoudre d’une manière expérimentale. L’exposition présente une vue d’ensemble de cette nouvelle pratique, à travers une large gamme de médiums : installations vidéo et sonores, photographies, sculptures et cartographies expérimentales.

Géographie expérimentale présente des artistes dont les approches s’échelonnent du poétique à l’empirique. Parmi les techniques plus pragmatiques figurent celles du Center for Urban Pedagogy (CUP), qui réalise des projets avec des élèves et des groupes extérieurs au monde artistique et qui vise de cette façon à encourager chacun à devenir un agent du changement dans son propre milieu. Voir, par exemple, la carte que le CUP a conçue afin d’aider les débardeurs et les camionneurs à situer les points d’étranglement du réseau de transport des marchandises. Tout aussi empiriques, les projets du Center for Land Use Interpretation (CLUI), une organisation vouée à la recherche, examinent la nature et l’étendue des interactions entre l’humain et la surface terrestre. Le CLUI adopte une approche multidisciplinaire qui oblige à une lecture du paysage américain (notamment, la défiguration des rives pittoresques de la rivière Hudson, entraînée par l’extraction de richesses naturelles), amenant le spectateur à observer d’un oeil nouveau certains détails occultés de son expérience quotidienne. » N.T.

Experimental Geography est une exposition itinérante organisée et mise en circulation par Independent Curators International (iCI), New-York, dont le commissaire invité est Nato Thompson. L’exposition, sa tournée et le catalogue sont rendus possibles grâce en partie à la Horace W. Goldsmith Foundation, à iCI Advocates, iCI Partners, Gerrit L. et Sydie Lansing et Barbara et John Robinson.

Lien vers la page de la Galerie d’art Foreman.

Crédit Photo: Jocelyn Riendeau

Biographie

Nato Thompson est commissaire en chef au Creative Time, New-York, ainsi qu’auteur et activiste. Key to the CityDemocracy in America: The National Campaign, Waiting for Godot in New Orleans, un projet par Paul Chan en collaboration avec le théâtre classique de Harlem, et Mike Nelson: A Psychic Vacuum, font partie de ses projets avec Creative Time. Thompson a été conservateur au MASS MoCA où figurent ses expositions The Interventionists: Art in the Social Sphere et Ahistoric Occasion: Artists Making History.

Independent Curators International (iCI) produit des expositions, des événements, des publications et offre des possibilités de formation pour des publics variés à travers le monde. Un catalyseur pour une réflexion indépendante, iCI relie les commissaires émergents et établis, les artistes.

Lien(s) utile(s) :
http://natothompson.wordpress.com/about/
http://www.curatorsintl.org/[/types]