t

Emanuel Licha

Exposition

Emanuel Licha

How Do We Know What We Know?

10.09 — 23.10 / 2011

© Emanuel Licha, How do we know what we know? Extrait vidéo 2011

Vernissage 10 September 2011 – 17h

How do we know what we know?

How do we know what we know? The studio journalist addresses the special envoy who was unable to access the conflict area mentioned in the report he produced from amateur images. Only a few years ago, we could still hear that it was the media that decided when a conflict began, as soon as journalists went there. The multiplication of images shot by the protagonists themselves, coupled with their almost instantaneous diffusion, modifies this equation. Do we still need the journalists?

Images are tools and weapons for the conduct of wars. This is not new in itself, but what is probably more new is the multiplication of their sources. This is therefore a good time to question “classical” journalistic work, which is based in particular on the rarely contested testimony of war correspondents. All the equipment surrounding this media coverage already seems a little outdated and may soon be obsolete: special envoys, film crews, satellite trucks, war hotels, “flash info” and other “breaking news”, the dramatic jingle of the newscast… What is a “good” conflict image? Where are they made and how will they be built tomorrow? How to criticize it with other images? Media production and dissemination create devices in which we are caught, and to which we contribute more or less voluntarily. It is the details – sometimes seemingly benign – of these devices that we can try to describe, so that we can think about them and perhaps get away from them.
E.L.

Link to the page of the peripheral activity of the How do we know what we know? exhibition.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Crédit photo : Jocelyn Riendeau

Biography

Emanuel Licha’s work in video and photography is part of urban and architectural issues by considering landscape objects as social, historical and political indicators. His recent projects question the means used to observe and witness violent and traumatic events. After completing his master’s studies in urban geography, Emanuel Licha pursued studies in visual arts at Concordia University in Montreal and at the Ecole nationale des beaux-arts de Lyon. He teaches film practices at the Ecole nationale supérieure d’architecture de Paris-La Villette, and is a member of the Centre for Research Architecture, Goldsmiths College, University of London. The artist thanks the Canada Council for the Arts for its support.

Useful links :
www.emanuel-licha.com

t

Emanuel Licha

Exposition

Emanuel Licha

How Do We Know What We Know?

10.09 — 23.10 / 2011

© Emanuel Licha, How do we know what we know? Extrait vidéo 2011

Vernissage le 10 Septembre 2011 – 17h

How do we know what we know?

How do we know what we know? Le journaliste en studio s’adresse à l’envoyé spécial qui n’a pas pu avoir accès à la zone de conflit évoquée dans le reportage qu’il a fabriqué à partir d’images amateures. Il y a quelques années à peine, on pouvait encore entendre dire que c’étaient les médias qui décidaient du début d’un conflit, à partir du moment où les journalistes se rendaient sur place. La multiplication des images tournées par les protagonistes eux-mêmes, couplées à leur diffusion quasi-instantanée, modifie cette équation. Avons-nous encore besoin des journalistes ?

Les images sont des outils et des armes pour la conduite des guerres. Ce n’est pas nouveau en soi, mais ce qui l’est sans doute davantage est la multiplication de leurs sources. C’est par conséquent un moment propice pour questionner le travail journalistique « classique », celui qui s’appuie notamment sur le témoignage rarement contesté des correspondants de guerre. Tout l’appareillage entourant cette couverture médiatique paraît déjà un peu dépassé et sera peut-être bientôt caduc : les envoyés spéciaux, les équipes de tournage, les camions satellite, les hôtels de guerre, les « flash info » et autres « breaking news » , le jingle dramatique du téléjournal…Qu’est-ce qu’une « bonne » image de conflit ? Où se fabriquent-elles et comment seront-elles construites demain ? Comment en faire une critique par d’autres images ? La production et la diffusion médiatiques créent des dispositifs dans lesquels nous sommes pris, et auxquels nous contribuons plus ou moins volontairement. Ce sont les détails — parfois bénins en apparence — de ces dispositifs qu’on peut essayer de décrire, pour pouvoir les penser et peut-être s’en dégager.
E.L.

 

Lien vers la page de l’activité périphérique de l’exposition How do we know what we know?.

 

Crédit photo : Jocelyn Riendeau

Biographie

Le travail en vidéo et photographie d’Emanuel Licha s’insère dans des problématiques urbaines et architecturales en envisageant les objets du paysage comme autant d’indices sociaux, historiques et politiques. Ses projets récents questionnent les moyens utilisés pour observer et témoigner d’événements violents et traumatiques. Après des études de maîtrise en géographie urbaine, Emanuel Licha a poursuivi des études en arts visuels à l’Université Concordia à Montréal et à l’Ecole nationale des beaux-arts de Lyon. Il enseigne les pratiques filmiques à l’Ecole nationale supérieure d’architecture de Paris-La Villette, et il est membre du Centre for Research Architecture, Goldsmiths College, University of London. L’artiste remercie de son soutien le Conseil des arts du Canada.

Lien(s) utile(s) :
www.emanuel-licha.com