t

Dominique Sirois

Exposition

Dominique Sirois

Studio Line

10.11 — 11.12 / 2011

© Dominique Sirois, STUDIO LINE, Collage numérique, 2010.

Vernissage 10 November 2011 – 17h

Studio Line

Sculpt, Fix and Volume – three plastic sounding promises made by the Studio Line range of hair products from the French giant l’Oréal, which materialise in Dominique Sirois’ installation. Broadcast in 1988, the company’s advertising clip is here shelled and reformulated by the artist who was interested in the Studio Line trademark, developed by the multinational L’Oréal in the 1980s and whose visual identity is based on the work of Piet Mondrian – famous for its black grids on a white background with blue, yellow and red squares. The Studio Line logo, by becoming a variant of the neo-plastic work, recovers and diverts its values of universalism, innovation and rejection of traditions, in favour of the registered trademark. At Sirois, the geometric abstraction of the company logo functions as a metaphor describing the high level of abstraction of companies’ financial market activities. The new version produced by the artist, although faithful to the sequence of the original advertising shots, moves away from them by a slower rhythm (the duration going from 30 seconds to several minutes); the absence of colour (Sirois having turned black and white); a more neutral dynamic between actors (the seduction ratio, palpable in the advertising, is replaced by a formal choreography) and an introspective climate (resulting among other things from a soundtrack produced using a wave generator and the actors’ performance). The work explores the state of a breathless economic system by diverting familiar landmarks from the advertising world: the refined aesthetic gives way to the raw and recycled nature of the materials and the artisanal aspect of the objects. In the exhibition room, in addition to the video, sculptural elements evoking bottles, furniture and musical instruments, inspired by advertising and manufactured by the artist, are gathered.

Sirois’ recent projects articulate a reflection on our economic system and the fate it holds for objects produced in large numbers and intended for mass consumption. What determines the value of these objects? And how does this value assignment process affect their presentation?

Geneviève Chevalier

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Crédit photo : Jocelyn Riendeau

 

Biography

A multidisciplinary artist from Montreal, Dominique Sirois has created installations – in which he creates spatial settings of objects evoking both the museum world and the shop window display – as well as sound performances and interventions. It develops projects where elements from the world of work, art and music are juxtaposed. From 2006 to 2009, she produced works inspired by her experience as a custodian at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Her work has been presented in solo exhibitions at Centre Circa, Galerie Le Lieu, Galerie Espace Virtuel de Chicoutimi, Centre Clark, Centre des arts actuels Skol, Galerie Verticale and Maison des artistes visuels francophones de Saint-Boniface, Manitoba. Since 2009, she has held a master’s degree in visual and media arts from the Université du Québec à Montréal.

Useful links :
dominiquesirois.com

t

Dominique Sirois

Exposition

Dominique Sirois

Studio Line

10.11 — 11.12 / 2011

© Dominique Sirois, STUDIO LINE, Collage numérique, 2010.

Vernissage le 10 Novembre 2011 – 17h

Studio Line

Sculpt, Fix and Volume — trois promesses à consonance plastique que fait la gamme de produits capillaires Studio Line du géant français l’Oréal et qui se matérialisent dans l’installation de Dominique Sirois. Diffusé en 1988, le clip publicitaire de l’entreprise est ici décortiqué et reformulé par l’artiste qui s’est intéressée à la marque de commerce Studio Line, développée par la multinationale l’Oréal dans les années 1980 et dont l’identité visuelle est calquée sur l’œuvre de Piet Mondrian — célèbre pour ses grilles noires sur fond blanc à carrés bleus, jaunes et rouges. Le logo de Studio Line, en se faisant variante de l’œuvre néo-plastique, récupère et détourne ses valeurs d’universalisme, d’innovation et de rejet des traditions, au profit de lamarque déposée. Chez Sirois, l’abstraction géométrique du logo de l’entreprise fonctionne à la manière d’une métaphore décrivant le haut niveau d’abstraction des activités menées sur les marchés financiers par les sociétés. La nouvelle version réalisée par l’artiste, quoique fidèle à la séquence des plans de la publicité d’origine, s’en éloigne par un rythme ralenti (la durée passant de 30 secondes à plusieurs minutes); l’absence de couleur  (Sirois ayant tourné en noir et blanc); une dynamique plus neutre entre acteurs (le rapport de séduction, palpable dans la publicité, est remplacé par une chorégraphie formelle) et un climat introspectif (découlant entre autres d’une trame sonore produite à l’aide d’un générateur d’ondes et du jeu des acteurs). L’œuvre explore l’état d’un système économique à bout de souffle en détournant les balises familières de l’univers publicitaire : l’esthétique léchée fait place au caractère brut et recyclé des matériaux et à l’aspect artisanal des objets. Dans la salle d’exposition, en plus de la vidéo, sont rassemblés des éléments sculpturaux évoquant flacons, mobilier et instruments de musique, inspirés de la publicité et fabriqués par l’artiste.

Les projets récents de Sirois articulent une réflexion à propos de notre système économique et du sort qu’il réserve aux objets produits en grand nombre et destinés à une consommation de masse. Qu’est-ce qui détermine la valeur de ces objets ? Et de quelle façon ce processus d’attribution de valeur influe sur leur mise en présentation ?

Geneviève Chevalier

 

 

Crédit photo : Jocelyn Riendeau

 

Biographie

Artiste multidisciplinaire originaire de Montréal, Dominique Sirois créé des installations – où sont élaborées des mises en espace d’objets évoquant tantôt l’univers muséal, tantôt l’étalage de magasin –, des performances sonores et des interventions. Elle élabore des projets où se juxtaposent des éléments tirés de l’univers du travail, de l’art et de la musique. De 2006 à 2009, elle a réalisé des œuvres inspirées de son expérience de gardienne au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal. Son travail a été présenté dans des expositions individuelles au Centre Circa, à la Galerie Le Lieu, à la Galerie Espace Virtuel de Chicoutimi, au Centre Clark, au Centre des arts actuels Skol, à la Galerie Verticale et à la Maison des artistes visuels francophones de Saint-Boniface, au Manitoba. Elle détient depuis 2009 un diplôme de maîtrise en arts visuels et médiatiques de l’Université du Québec à Montréal.

Lien(s) utile(s) :
dominiquesirois.com