t

Dominic Papillon

Exposition

Dominic Papillon

Chair et Vérité

08.11 — 09.12 / 2012

© Dominic Papillon, Mon Épiphanie (détail), 2012.

Vernissage 8 November 2012 – 17 h

Flesh and Truth

With his most recent exhibition entitled Flesh and Truth, presented for the first time at Sporobole, Dominic Papillon presents a series of sculptures exploring the combined themes of the body and the sacred. With a plastic approach that follows in the wake of the pop movement, the artist explores the notion of the grotesque by drawing inspiration from the exuberance of Christian imagery from the Gothic, Baroque and Rococo genres.

Through a play of juxtaposition and superposition of organic and geometric forms that echo the extravagance of churches, various elements are reconfigured in assemblies evoking draped, clouds, rainbows, hair, halos, bushy foliage, columns and arches. All these references intersect and respond in an amalgam of materials specific to both industry (styrofoam, molten cement, urethane foam, silicone) and traditional sculpture (fibreglass, plaster, steel). The notions of lust, glorification, spirituality and power intertwine through these icons and materials, simultaneously expressing refinement, disorder and abjection.

Oscillating between abstraction and figuration, Dominic Papillon’s works explore the narrative potential of sculpture through the use of unusual materials and forms: the flashy appearance of objects of ornament or festivities, the beauty and appeal of toys and sweets, the splendour surrounding patriotic and religious icons and the presence of monuments are sources of inspiration and form the basis of his plastic language. “I try to create an imagery with ambiguous semantic contours of sensual and strange construction. I propose a crazy vision of a world where sensuality and spirituality coexist. Exacerbation, disgust, onirism, reversal, overthrow, plethora, shimmer, lust; these are some of the terms that could be used to define the visual atmosphere that surrounds my works.

Juxtaposing contemporary culture and religious heritage, Flesh and Truth invites us to both a playful experience of sculpture and a questioning of our sometimes fetishistic relationship with objects of worship and those produced for mass consumption.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

 

Link to the page of the peripheral activity of the Flesh and Truth exhibition.

Crédit photo : Jocelyn Riendeau

Biography

Dominic Papillon holds a bachelor’s degree in visual and media arts (UQAM, 2006) and a master’s degree in sculpture (Concordia, 2009). His practice is essentially based on sculpture and installation. In 2009, he held his first solo exhibition, Cheap Thrills, at the Maison de la culture in Notre-Dame-de-Grâce. Among his group exhibitions are Collision V at the Parisian Laundry (2009) and Nostalgie du présent at the Circa exhibition centre (2010). He is the recipient of several scholarships, including the Jacques de Tonnancour Excellence Award (UQAM), the Dale and Nick Tedeschi Studio Arts Fellowship (Concordia) and the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.

Useful links :
www.dominicpapillon.com

t

Dominic Papillon

Exposition

Dominic Papillon

Chair et Vérité

08.11 — 09.12 / 2012

© Dominic Papillon, Mon Épiphanie (détail), 2012.

Vernissage le 8 Novembre 2012 – 17 h

Chair et Vérité

Avec sa plus récente exposition intitulée Chair et Vérité, présentée en primeur à Sporobole, Dominic Papillon propose une série de sculptures explorant les thèmes conjugués du corps et du sacré. Avec une approche plastique qui s’inscrit dans le sillage du mouvement pop, l’artiste se penche sur la notion du grotesque en s’inspirant de l’exubérance de l’imagerie chrétienne issue des genres gothique, baroque et rococo.

Par un jeu de juxtaposition et de superposition de formes organiques et géométriques qui font écho à l’extravagance des églises, divers éléments se reconfigurent dans des assemblages évoquant drapés, nuages, arcs-en-ciel, chevelures, auréoles, feuillage touffu, colonnes et arches. Tous ces référents s’entrecoupent et se répondent dans un amalgame de matériaux à la fois propres à l’industrie (styromousse, ciment fondu, mousse uréthane, silicone) et à la sculpture traditionnelle (fibre de verre, plâtre, acier). Les notions de luxure, de glorification, de spiritualité et de pouvoir s’entrelacent à travers ces icônes et ces matières, exprimant simultanément raffinement, désordre et abjection.

Oscillant entre l’abstraction et la figuration, les oeuvres de Dominic Papillon explorent le potentiel narratif de la sculpture à travers l’utilisation de matériaux et de formes inusités : l’aspect clinquant des objets de parure ou de festivités, la joliesse et l’attrait des jouets et des confiseries, le faste entourant les icônes patriotiques et religieuses et la prestance des monuments sont sources d’inspiration et forment la base de son langage plastique. « Je tente de créer une imagerie aux contours sémantiques ambigus de facture sensuelle et étrange. Je propose une vision déjantée d’un monde où sensualité et spiritualité cohabitent. Exacerbation, dégoût, onirisme, renversement, pléthorique, chatoiement, lubricité; voici quelques-uns des termes qui pourraient servir à définir l’ambiance visuelle qui entoure mes oeuvres ».

Juxtaposant culture contemporaine et patrimoine religieux, Chair et Vérité nous convie à la fois à une expérience ludique de la sculpture et à un questionnement sur notre rapport parfois fétichiste avec les objets de culte et ceux produits pour la consommation de masse.

 

Lien vers la page de l’activité périphérique de l’exposition Chair et Vérité.

Crédit photo : Jocelyn Riendeau

Biographie

Détenteur d’un baccalauréat en arts visuels et médiatiques (UQAM, 2006) et d’une maîtrise en sculpture (Concordia, 2009), la pratique de Dominic Papillon évolue essentiellement autour de la sculpture et de l’installation. En 2009, il a réalisé sa première exposition individuelle, Cheap Thrills, à la Maison de la culture de Notre-Dame-de-Grâce. Parmi ses expositions collectives, mentionnons Collision V à la Parisian Laundry (2009) ainsi que Nostalgie du présent au centre d’exposition Circa (2010). Il est récipiendaire de plusieurs bourses dont la bourse d’excellence Jacques de Tonnancour (UQAM), la bourse Dale and Nick Tedeschi Studio Arts Fellowship (Concordia) ainsi que du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.

Lien(s) utile(s) :
www.dominicpapillon.com