t

David Armstrong Six

Exposition

David Armstrong Six

The Law of the Excluded Middle

08.04 — 09.05 / 2010

© David Armstrong Six, The Law Of The Excluded Middle

Vernissage 8 April 2010 – 17h

The Law of the Excluded Middle

“In my beginning is my end”.

                          T.S. Eliot, “The Waste Land”

« With The Law of the Excluded Middle, a new work created for Sporobole, I am continuing my investigation of sculpture as a philosophical proposition born out of an encounter with quotidian form.

The central component is a large winding line, made of laminated wood and painted in the subtle hues of gasoline, the design of which is based loosely on the flight pattern of flies.

This nonsensical line represents a journey, which proclaims that there are no formal conditions for success while proffering no conclusions. It simply announces, without a beginning or an end, the parameters of a composition that is tangentially punctuated by cast, carved and fabricated replicas of quotidian detritus (no-name cans, parking lot stops, magazines, etc.) alongside the readymade presence of industrial products such as fluorescent lights and silver tape.

The effect is one of turning the origin of these forms, by the sum of their parts and the nature of their cultural gestures, into an autonomous zone of indistinction such that they combine to form an entropic mud.

What I am arriving at is thus a conflation of the idea of the law of the excluded middle, which states: “for any proposition, that proposition is in itself true or it is true by its own negation”. Rather, the work affirms in a simple manner, the presence of the individual as a possible encounter with illegible form which is governed by the ephemeral.

In tandem with the sculptural component of the exhibition a series of new spray-paintings has been produced for the show which extends the principle of double negation.»

D.A.S.

 

Crédit photo : Éric Desmarais, Jocelyn Riendeau

Biography

Originally from Toronto, David Armstrong Six has been living and working in Montreal since 2006. His work has been exhibited widely throughout Canada, the United States, Europe and New Zealand, including shows at the Power Plant in Toronto, the Musée d’art Contemporain de Montréal and White Columns in New York. He is represented by Parisian Laundry in Montreal and Goodwater in Toronto.

 

Useful links :
www.davidarmstrongsix.com

t

David Armstrong Six

Exposition

David Armstrong Six

The Law of the Excluded Middle

08.04 — 09.05 / 2010

© David Armstrong Six, The Law Of The Excluded Middle

Vernissage le 8 Avril 2010 – 17h

The Law of the Excluded Middle

“In my beginning is my end”. T.S. Eliot, “The Waste Land”

« Avec The Law of the Excluded Middle (« La loi du tiers exclu »), une nouvelle œuvre créée pour Sporobole, je poursuis mon exploration de la sculpture en tant que proposition philosophique née d’une rencontre avec des formes tirées du quotidien.

 

L’élément central de l’œuvre consiste en une longue ligne sinueuse faite de bois laminé, dont la surface peinte évoque les teintes subtiles de l’essence et dont la forme reprend librement la trajectoire d’une mouche en vol.

 

Cette ligne absurde, qui représente un voyage, proclame l’absence de conditions formelles menant à la réussite tout en n’émettant aucune conclusion. Elle se contente d’annoncer, sans début ni fin, les paramètres d’une composition ponctuée tangentiellement par des répliques de détritus du quotidien, moulées, sculptées et fabriquées (boîtes de conserve sans nom, butoirs de stationnement, revues, etc.), lesquelles sont accompagnées de produits industriels tout faits, tels que des tubes d’éclairage fluorescents et du ruban adhésif argenté.

 

Ces formes, par la somme de leurs parties et la nature de leurs gestes culturels, ouvrent une zone indistincte autonome où leur combinaison crée une boue entropique.

 

Je donne ainsi corps à l’idée de la loi du tiers exclu, selon laquelle une proposition est vraie si et seulement si sa négation est fausse. L’œuvre affirme plus simplement la présence de l’individu et sa rencontre possible avec une forme illisible régie par l’éphémère.

 

Présentée en tandem avec les éléments sculpturaux de l’exposition, une série de peintures à l’aérosol, réalisée pour l’occasion, étend le principe de la double négation.»

 

D.A.S (traduit par S.G.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Crédit photo : Éric Desmarais, Jocelyn Riendeau

Biographie

Originaire de Toronto, David Armstrong Six vit à Montréal depuis 2006. Son travail d’installation et de sculpture a été diffusé à travers le Canada, les Etats-Unis, l’Europe et la Nouvelle-Zélande, notamment au Power Plant à Toronto, au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal et au White Columns à New-York. Il est représenté par la Parisian Laundry à Montréal et à Goodwater in Toronto.

 

Lien(s) utile(s) :
www.davidarmstrongsix.com