t

Catherine Préfontaine

Exposition

Catherine Préfontaine

Postillons / Intempéries...

17.01 — 03.03 / 2013

© Catherine Préfontaine

Vernissage 17 January 2013 – 17h

Postillons/Intempéries du langage*

*”Spraying saliva is the inclement weather of language” – Jules Renard

Catherine Préfontaine creates visual schemas of non-visual natural phenomena. Through the implied filter of the body as barrier and receptacle she plumbs the entire human body as it runs up against the world‚ a sensory overflow.

Préfontaine proceeds by scraping, perforating and recovering walls. Improvisation is her preferred strategy for exploring corporeal memories and physical and emotional states. For the past year she has repeatedly created holes in the walls of her studio. The groups of holes that have emerged through this process made her think of sprays of saliva (postillons) and the holes in the dial of old telephones.

In preparation for this exhibition at Sporobole, she photographed and created multiple transparencies of them. In the gallery, she exhibits them alongside drawings. The resulting constellations circumscribe and punctuate the room like a body shot through with holes.

The installation Postillons/Intempéries du langage shows the artist engaging through the practice of drawing with an in situ work. The space is treated like a recording of sensorial perceptions. The installation may be seen as an amplified field of the tormented clamour of a deafened world.

C.P., K.T.

The artist thanks Karen Trask and Myriam Yates.

 

/ / / / / Link to peripheral activity / / / / / Pollution sonore / Presentation  ///

Sporobole invites you to the Catherine Préfontaine artist presentation, Saturday March 2 2013 from 13h30 to 14h30

 

Photo credit: Jocelyn Riendeau

Biography

Catherine Préfontaine was born in Montreal and completed a bachelor‚ a degree in visual arts at Concordia University in 1997 with a major in painting and drawing and a minor in photography. She then obtained a master, a degree in visual and media arts at UQAM in 2003, where she focused on drawing in the form of an installation or an in situ work. Her work has been shown in several solo and group exhibitions in Quebec and elsewhere in Canada since 1994 (Axe Néo 7, Dare-Dare, Galerie Sylviane Poirier, PLATFORM CENTRE FOR PHOTOGRAPHIC + DIGITAL ARTS (Floating Gallery, Winnipeg). She lives in Montreal and divides her time between teaching and artistic creation.

t

Catherine Préfontaine

Exposition

Catherine Préfontaine

Postillons / Intempéries...

17.01 — 03.03 / 2013

© Catherine Préfontaine

Vernissage le 17 Janvier 2013 – 17h

Postillons/Intempéries du langage*

*« Les postillons sont les intempéries du langage. » – Jules Renard

 

Catherine Préfontaine s’intéresse à schématiser visuellement des phénomènes de nature non visuelle. C’est par le filtre sous-entendu du corps comme barrière et comme réceptacle qu’est sondée l’intégrité de l’être humain qui se bute aux envahissements sensoriels du monde.

L’artiste procède par des actions sur la surface des murs qu’elle gratte, perfore et recouvre. L’improvisation est privilégiée en tant que stratégie pour explorer les mémoires corporelles, les états physiques et émotionnels. Depuis un an, de façon répétée, elle troue les murs de son atelier. Les ensembles de trous qui ont émergé de ce processus lui font penser à des postillons, de même qu’aux trous présents dans les anciens combinés de téléphones.

En préparation pour l’exposition à Sporobole, elle les a photographiés et les a démultipliés en transparence. En galerie, elle les agence avec le dessin. Les constellations qui en résultent circonscrivent et ponctuent la salle comme un corps criblé de balles.

Postillons / Intempéries du langage propose une installation où l’artiste s’investit dans la pratique du dessin avec une oeuvre in situ. L’espace est abordé comme un enregistrement des perceptions sensorielles. L’installation peut se voir comme un champ amplifié de la clameur tourmentée d’un monde assourdi.

C.P., K.T.

L’artiste tient à remercier Karen Trask et Myriam Yates

/// Activités périphériques de l’exposition Postillons/Intempéries du langage///

///Lien vers  la page de l’évènement  Pollution sonore- 5à7 ///

/// Lien vers  la page de la visite des laboratoires de recherche du GAUS  avec Alain Berry ///

 

 

Crédit photo: Jocelyn Riendeau

Biographie

Née à Montréal, Catherine Préfontaine a complété en 1997 un baccalauréat en arts visuels à l’Université Concordia avec une majeure en peinture et dessin ainsi qu’une mineure en photographie. Elle a ensuite obtenu une maîtrise en arts visuels et médiatiques de l’UQÀM en 2003, où elle s’est concentrée sur une pratique en dessin qui se déploie sous forme d’installations ou dans l’in situ. Depuis 1994, son travail a été présenté dans plusieurs expositions individuelles et collectives au Québec et ailleurs au Canada (Axe Néo 7, Dare-Dare, Galerie Sylviane Poirier, PLATFORM CENTRE FOR PHOTOGRAPHIC + DIGITAL ARTS).