Artist presentation / Discussion with Jean-Pierre Kesteman

Exposition

Andreas Rutkauskas

20.04 — 20.04 / 2013

14h

© Andreas Rutkauskas, Park-Corunna, 2012

Artist presentation followed by a talk with historian Jean-Pierre Kesteman

Saturday, April 20, 2013 at 2pm
Free entrance

Andreas Rutkauskas will present his recent work and how he has worked with the Sarnia community on his Petrolia project.

(presentation in English and a little in French)

Jean-Pierre Kesteman will talk to us about the pace of deindustrialization in the Estrie region and its economic, social and environmental effects.

(presentation in French)

/ / / / / / / / /

Jean-Pierre Kesteman:

A renowned professor at Sherbrooke University, Jean-Pierre Kesteman has had a career as a teacher and researcher in history, mainly in the field of the economic and social history of contemporary Quebec. A graduate of the Universities of Louvain, Sherbrooke and Québec at Montreal, the subject of his thesis was on the industrialization and development of capitalism in the Estrie region in the 19th century.

He is the author of several books in Quebec history and in particular in the history of the region, including a Histoire des Cantons-de-l’Est (1998) and a Histoire de Sherbrooke (1802-2002) in four volumes. He has also written books on the history of Lac-Mégantic (1985), the Gaelic Scots of the Eastern Townships (2000), Sherbrooke streetcars (2007), Hydro-Sherbrooke (1988), the Magog River (2004), the beginnings of Barnston and Coaticook (2011).

In addition to his academic activities, he has, for the past thirty years, been present among the general public in the dissemination of regional history by collaborating, among other things, with various written and audiovisual media.

Andreas Rutkauskas:

Originally from Winnipeg, Andreas Rutkauskas received a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree from the University of Manitoba. In 2003, he moved to Montreal and completed a Master of Fine Arts degree at Concordia University, where he currently teaches in the Department of Fine Arts. Through photography, video or other means, he is generally interested in landscape as it relates to technological transformations. Petrolia, her most recent project, is the result of a year-long collaborative research project with the Judith & Norman ALIX Art Gallery in Sarnia, Ontario.

 

L’exposition se poursuit jusqu’au 28 avril.

 

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Video Documentation

Présentation d’artiste / causerie avec Jean-Pierre Kesteman

Exposition

Andreas Rutkauskas

20.04 — 20.04 / 2013

14h

© Andreas Rutkauskas, Park-Corunna, 2012

Présentation d’artiste suivie d’une causerie avec l’historien Jean-Pierre Kesteman

Le samedi 20 avril 2013 à 14h
Entrée libre

Andreas Rutkauskas présentera son travail récent et la façon dont il a travaillé avec la communauté de Sarnia dans le cadre de la réalisation de son projet Petrolia.

(présentation en anglais et un peu en français)

Jean-Pierre Kesteman nous entretiendra sur Les rythmes de la désindustrialisation en Estrie et ses effets économiques, sociaux et environnementaux.

(présentation en français)

/ / / / / / / / /

Jean-Pierre Kesteman :

Professeur émérite de l’Université de Sherbrooke, dont il a été vice-recteur à l’enseignement, Jean-Pierre Kesteman a mené une carrière d’enseignant et de chercheur en histoire, essentiellement dans le domaine de l’histoire économique et sociale du Québec contemporain. Diplômé des universités de Louvain, de Sherbrooke et du Québec à Montréal, le sujet de sa thèse portait sur l’industrialisation et le développement du capitalisme en Estrie au 19e siècle.

Il est l’auteur de plusieurs livres en histoire québécoise et en particulier en histoire la région, dont une Histoire des Cantons-de-l’Est (1998) et une Histoire de Sherbrooke (1802-2002) en quatre tomes. Il a également écrit des livres sur l’histoire de Lac-Mégantic (1985), des Écossais gaéliques des Cantons-de-l’Est (2000), des tramways sherbrookois (2007), de l’Hydro-Sherbrooke (1988), de la rivière Magog (2004), des débuts de Barnston et de Coaticook (2011).

À côté de ses activités universitaires, il a, depuis trente ans, exercé une présence auprès du grand public dans la diffusion de l’histoire régionale en collaborant, entre autres, avec différents médias écrits et audio-visuels.

Andreas Rutkauskas :

Originaire de Winnipeg, Andreas Rutkauskas a obtenu un baccalauréat en arts visuels de l’Université du Manitoba. En 2003, il a déménagé à Montréal et a fait une maîtrise en beaux-arts à l’Université Concordia, où il enseigne actuellement au sein du département des arts plastiques. Par le recours à la photographie, à la vidéo ou à d’autres moyens, il s’intéresse de façon générale au paysage en lien avec les transformations technologiques. Petrolia, son plus récent projet, est le résultat de recherches menées sur une période d’un an en collaboration avec la Judith & Norman ALIX Art Gallery de Sarnia, en Ontario.

L’exposition se poursuit jusqu’au 28 avril.

Documentation vidéo